The B-52's - The B-52's

In stock


  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • MoFi Silver Label Vinyl Series
  • Mastered from the 1/4" / 15 IPS Analog Master to Analog Console to Lathe
  • Pressed at RTI on Audiophile-Grade Standard Vinyl

Audio Beat Rated 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sound!

Silver Label Numbered, Limited Edition Vinyl LP!
Mastered from the 1/4" / 15 IPS Analog Master to Analog Console to Lathe & Pressed at RTI!

Delightfully Campy, Intentionally Goofy, Lyrically Kitschy: 1979 Set Is Nothing But a Good Time

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's World-Renowned Mastering System and Pressed at RTI: LP Bursts Forth With the Color and Vibrancy of the Brilliant Pop Within

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 198/500!

Boffo! Beehive hairdos, goofy sci-fi humor, lava-lamp kitsch, thrift-store fashions, party-starting tunes, unconventional perspectives, and the unique blending of the underground aesthetic with mainstream accessibility: The B-52's mix all this and more into a dizzying cocktail on their self-titled debut, which remains one of the most ahead-of-its-time, endlessly enjoyable, and vividly colorful albums ever released.

Ranked at #198 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, The B-52's has its roots in the band's improbable genesis, itself reflective of the record's gleeful moods and quirky charms. The five members first played after sharing a tropical alcoholic beverage at a Chinese restaurant, the ironic silliness and spontaneous irreverence indicative of the music on its breakthrough record. Not to mention how it mirrors the unusual hodgepodge of instrumentation: organs, walkie talkies, bongos, glockenspiels, tambourines, toy pianos, smoke alarms, and more!

Musically, the band proves just as adventurous and whimsical. Using pleasant harmonies as a backdrop and Kate Pierson's squealing organ as a starting point, the B-52's draw upon surf-rock grooves, beach-bound soul-pop, herky-jerky funk riffs, minimalist rhythms, and Ricky Wilson's unusual guitar lines to craft songs that tower above the sarcastic suggestiveness and campy declarations. Of course, the latter are plenty entertaining on their own, but there's no denying the dance-bound persuasiveness and melodic shimmy associated with the classic cult single "Rock Lobster" and splendid cover of the ubiquitous Petula Clark standard "Downtown." You've never heard anything like this.

Indeed, the B-52s were about a decade ahead of the alt-rock revolution when they recorded this delightfully campy, intentionally goofy, lyrically tawdry, and undeniably harmonic 1979 new-wave set that comes off as the best dance party you might ever hear. This is 40 minutes of nothing but a good time.

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's world-renowned mastering system and pressed at RTI, Silver Label numbered edition LP presents the B-52's brilliant debut in a fidelity it's never previously enjoyed. So detailed and realistic are the timbres, accents, and harmonies, you'll think the band's bright outfits are appearing right in front of you. Plus, the LP is worth the cost alone for the iconic album cover, which spotlights those bouffant 'dos.

The B-52's' debut sounds like a bunch of high school friends cramming all their running jokes, goofy sounds and private nicknames into a New Wave record. 'We never thought it would get past our circle of friends in Athens [Georgia],' vocalist Fred Schneider told Rolling Stone. It turned out that nobody could resist the band's campy, arty funk, or the eccentric squeals and bouffant hairdos of Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson. (Playing organ, Pierson also defined the band's sound.) They played toy instruments, and their thrift-store image was as inventive and colorful as their music — which, with 'Rock Lobster,' was pretty inventive and colorful.
-Rolling Stone
The B-52s sounds as otherworldly today as it did when it was released over 30 years ago. It's a dizzying, headlong ride without brakes, a melange of dance beats, surf guitar licks, vocals that teeter between news-anchor recitation and near-falsetto warbling, and an array of instruments that includes glockenspiel and toy piano, all filtered through a campy sense of humor. Beginning to end, there is nothing else quite like it... Each instrumental line of this busy music is supremely delineated, and the bass is quick-paced and potent.
-Mark Mickelson, The Audio Beat, 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sound


  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • MoFi Silver Label Vinyl Series
  • Mastered from the 1/4" / 15 IPS Analog Master to Analog Console to Lathe
  • Pressed at RTI on Audiophile-Grade Standard Vinyl


  1. Planet Claire
  2. 52 Girls
  3. Dance This Mess Around
  4. Rock Lobster
  5. Lava
  6. There's a Moon in the Sky (Called the Moon)
  7. Hero Worship
  8. 6060-842
  9. Downtown
More Information
By Genre Pop - Rock
By Labels Mobile Fidelity Silver
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account