In stock



This 20 track compilation features the most popular tracks by the Connecticut-born brother/sister duo. Their fusion of easy listening and MOR pop brought The Carpenters a decade of chart success. 'Carpenters Gold' includes fourteen tracks which reached the UK top 40 in the 1970's.

Look no further for the definitive Carpenters collection; the Carpenters Gold contains 20 great songs! Karen Carpenter's pure, gentle voice, and brother Richard's smooth-but-sophisticated arrangements and keyboards provided the signature sound of the soft-pop 1970s. You could put this collection into a time capsule for a hundred years and accurately inform subsequent generations of what AM radio sounded like in the '70s. This anthology is also a tribute the great talents of the Paul Williams/Roger Nichols songwriting team, from whose pens flowed "Rainy Days and Mondays," "We've Only Just Begun," "I Won't Last a Day Without You," and other mellow, tuneful gems--some of the classiest pure pop music of the era.

1. Yesterday Once More

2. Superstar

3. Rainy Days And Mondays

4. Goodbye Love

5. It's Going To Take Some Time

6. I Won't Last A Day Without You

7. For All We Know

8. Jambalaya (On The Bayou)

9. Touch Me When We're Dancing

10. Please Mr. Postman

11. I Need To Be In Love

12. Solitaire

13. We've Only Just Begun

14. (They Long To Be) Close To You

15. This Masquerade

16. Ticket To Ride

17. Top Of The World

18. Only Yesterday

19. Sing

20. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (The Recognised Anthem Of World Contact Day)

More Information
By Labels JVC
By Genre Pop - Rock
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account