Johnny Cash - Johnny Cash at San Quentin

In stock

Classic Cash album recorded live at San Quentin's state prison. Can you feel the rowdy energy?

  • 180 gram Vinyl Record

Even though Johnny Cash's At Folsom Prison is the better known prison recorded live album, At San Quentin is seen as the artistically better album. Cash seems wilder - some attribute it to the loss of guitarist and friend Luther Perkins - yet at the same time more comfortable and more in tune with his audience.

He jokes about his drug addiction, he rebels against orders from the British television company that is recording the show, and he really seems to want to kill the bastard who named him Sue. Wife June Carter shyly but surely joins in on "Darlin' Companion", and he debuts the songs "San Quentin" and "Wanted Man", which he co-wrote with Bob Dylan.

After the huge success of At Folsom Prison this is Johnny Cash under pressure, and as he says himself, it's when he's at his best.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl

Side A
1. Wanted Man
2. Wreck Of The Old 97
3. I Walk The Line
4. Darlin' Companion
5. Starkville City Jail    

Side B
1. San Quentin
2. San Quentin
3. A Boy Named Sue
4. (There'll Be) Peace In the Valley
5. Folsom Prison Blues

More Information
By Labels Speakers Corner
By Genre Country
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account